Meet the Seaford High School Delegation

IMG_4824.jpgBy Marley Fishburn

The Seaford High School delegation is the southernmost deputation and we are determined to represent Sussex county with integrity in our stature and eloquence in our debates. We are one of the newer delegations, 2018 being our fifth year to participate formally in the Model Legislative and Judicial Conference, and we are intent on making this year our best. The Seaford High delegation is currently home to 14 delegates. Our size creates a tone of friendship and community that larger groups and delegations may not be able to achieve. Due to this closeness we are able to speak truthfully and candidly to each other when reviewing bills, articles, and debates. In 2017 one of our first year delegates, Noelle Kuhoric, attended the Conference on National Affairs along with 12 other delegates from Delaware. She recalls her experience: “Cona was truly was one of  the best experiences of my life and lead me to grow even more as a person among those who are alike me; as well as challenge me, and push me to stay true to myself and fight for my beliefs. I would encourage anyone who has to opportunity to go to take it and run with and make the most out of your time while there and even in YIG all together.” Our YDL, Marley Fishburn, also plans on running for Photo Video Director of Press. Seaford plans to meet 2018 with hopeful and determined spirits and we look forward to making this year exectional.

Author: Delaware Youth in Government

State Director for YMCA of Delaware Youth in Government

Leave a comment